GOOD DESIGN<> EXAMPLE 1: Slack Mobile App. Does a regular (outlet) fan work for drying the bathroom? Some people call this the Technical Architecture section. As a software engineer, I spend a lot of time reading and writing design documents. Keep in mind that you are still responsible for making the final call, even if everyone can’t come to a consensus. Can a US president give Preemptive Pardons? In such cases, arguing for “good-looking” programs is a misplaced concern. ... You might even find yourself writing software that has no visible interface—embedded or systems software, for example. UML Diagrams. As is custom with this type of site, there is a minimum of content and functionality. 1. Creative skill, past experience, a sense of what makes ―good‖ software, and an overall commitment to quality are critical success factors for a competent design. Add an [Update] subsection here if the ETA of some of these milestone changes, so the stakeholders can easily see the most up-to-date estimates. I wish Cooper would have included a document with his books. And a list of milestones If nobody reads Privacy Policies or Terms and Conditions, why not change them? That means a successful design doc might actually lead to an outcome like this: At the beginning of this article, we said the goal of a design doc is to make sure the right work gets done. Does it cause any latency regression to the system? Often, even if the implementation stays the same, your reviewer is able to point out corner cases you need to cover, indicate any potential areas of confusion, and anticipate difficulties you might encounter later on. I haven’t tried this, but I can certainly see this helping get feedback from people with different perspectives and improve the general readability of the doc. I suggest time-bounding this feedback gathering process to about 1 week to avoid extended delays. Source: Ryan Kaverman Use calendar dates so you take into account unrelated delays, vacations, meetings, and